Support

Settings in Astute Manager

3 minute read • Last updated 2020-09-03

The Astute Manager can be customised to how you want to use it. Additional settings are planned, so ensure you stay updated to take advantage of what's on offer!

To access the settings, click on the cogwheel icon top right in the window:

At present, the settings allow you to:

  • Check current application version number
  • If required, send a bug report, automatically including the log report (details on this available on request).
  • Opt to Launch at login.
  • Control which instances of Illustrator are handled by default.

It is the last point that we'll be concentrating on next.

Which versions of Illustrator Astute Manager supports

Each time the Astute Manager loads, it will detect all available instances of Adobe Illustrator present on your machine and automatically add access to newly installed major Illustrator versions when present.

However, it's possible to add or remove instances of Illustrator that are supported. At present, these can be any or all of:

  • Illustrator CC (v17.1)
  • Illustrator CC2014 (v18)
  • Illustrator CC2015 (v19)
  • Illustrator CC2015.3 (v20)
  • Illustrator CC2017 (v21)
  • Illustrator CC2018 (v22)
  • Illustrator CC2019 (v23)
  • Illustrator 2020.2+ (v24.2+)

Each of these versions and instances of Illustrator requires a different version of plugin due to internal changes. Astute Manager takes care of this headache for you!

What to do if you install or remove an instance of Illustrator

Upon changing which versions of Illustrator are installed on your machine, you'll need to let the Astute Manager know. Either quit and restart the Astute Manager or click on the Detect installed Adobe Illustrator Versions (1) button found at the bottom of the settings window, followed by Save (2).

For advanced users:
Setting the plugin folder locations manually

Due to the possibility of instances of Illustrator being present on removable drives (not advised!) or using Adobe's relatively unknown preference allowing users to set a custom plugins folder location, you can manually tell Astute Manager where you want a certain version of the plugins to be installed.

To do so, click on the default location text (3) and edit to suit.

Once changed, scroll down and click on the Save (2) button.

After these changes, all future plugin management in the Astute Manager will follow these settings. Note that changing these settings will not automatically remove existing plugin installations – this has to be performed manually.

To reset to default, click on the Reset all defaults (4) button and then Save (2).

Helpful?

Please explain why this isn't helpful*